What It’s like Being A Member Of The LGBTQ+ Community

Hey hey! Welcome back!

rupaulgif.gif

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about this topic, so I wanted to talk a little about it. As some of you may know, or don’t know, I identify as part of the LGBTQ+ community. YAY! I want to explain a little what that is, (for those of you who don’t know), and talk about what it’s really like being a part of this wonderful and beautiful community.

What is LGBTQ+?

LGBTQ+ stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning and it is a huge community all over the world.  It refers to people who are united by having sexual orientations and/or gender identities that are different than the heterosexual and cisgender majority… what that basically means is we are not straight (like the majority) and some of us don’t identify with the gender given to us at birth.

What it’s like being a member of this community:

There are many pros to being part of this community, but there are also cons. I’ll start with the pros.

  1. We are all loving, welcoming, and open. We accept people for who they are and don’t bat an eyelid if they are different. Our hearts are huge.
  2. We are so much fun. If you join us on a night out, prepare to have a damn good time. The parties we throw are amazing. Hello have you seen our PRIDE PARADE?
  3. We are a part of history. Everyday things are positively changing for LGBTQ+. Not long ago same-sex relationships were a crime. A CRIME. Now? We’re here, we’re queer, get used to it!
  4. I have to say it again. We are so loving. Not only in our homosexual relationships, but to others whom are LGBTQ+. We all look out for and support each other and in hard times we stick together.
  5. We are COURAGEOUS for being who we are. To all of those who come out, you are brave.

There are many more pros to being a part of the LGBTQ+ community, but those (I believe) are the main ones. Now I’ll talk about some of the cons.

  1. Being told it’s “just a phase”. Ugh. No. It’s not “just a phase”, baby I was born this way.
  2. Being disowned by friends/family. This isn’t the case for everyone, but for certain people when they get the courage to come out, their “friends” and family want nothing to do with them because they think that being a part of this community is a “sin” or it’s disgusting. WHICH IT IS NOT.
  3. We are targeted. We are a target of violence by small minded homophobic people. Whether it be being beaten up and bullied, or victims of murder (for example the orlando nightclub shooting R.I.P) and this is disgusting. Why can’t we just get on with out lives. Why does it bother them so much?
  4. We can’t be ourselves all of the time. Sure, it’s more common to come out these days, but because the majority are heterosexual and cisgender, it is very difficult for us to come out to friends and family out of fear of rejection. Not until we have found people who accept us for being us can we be ourselves.

What being a part of the LGBTQ+ community means to me:

I love being a part of a community that is so loving and open. During my school years I was bullied for being a “lesbian”, but at that age I honestly didn’t know what I was. I just knew I wasn’t heterosexual like everyone else. I kept to myself, and didn’t tell anyone out of fear. I still haven’t come out to my parents as my mother is very homophobic. My dad on the other hand I think he’d love me no matter what. I’ve only come out to a few of my family members and have had nothing but support from them. (which is a blessing). It was only in my college years that I finally said fuck it and became truly myself. I became a member of the Pride Society and met some wonderful people. I finally learned to let go of all the hate I used to feel towards myself about being different. Now I can’t imagine being anything else other than…well… me!

Being a part of the LGBTQ+ community means a lot of things for a lot of people. I am just so happy and blessed to be born into a group of people who are so accepting, loving, welcoming, kind, and gay! To all of you in the LGBTQ+ community. I thank you, for letting me be me.

lgbtq+

What does being a part of the LGBTQ+ community mean to you? Leave a comment below!

Thanks for reading!

All my love,
lex.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What It’s like Being A Member Of The LGBTQ+ Community

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

